day-to-day activities · food · healthy mind and body

Keeping the Body Strong

I sure feel better now. I had already gotten my cold for this year and I thought that was it. I finished out the first week back at school and had dinner at Maggiano’s here in Chicago on Grand Avenue. It was great like always. I had a normal dinner on Saturday night with Margie of steak tacos and red wine. I went to bed at a normal time and thought nothing of it. I woke up in the middle of the night and began having what was the stomach flu. I really did nothing at all on Sunday but sleep. That’s the way I am sick. I sleep constantly. Margie likes to stay up and do things. That’s not for me. I slept most of the day on Monday too. I pushed the sick out of me. I was relatively well by Monday night and back to work. I went to the gym on Tuesday morning like I was never sick. I have been eating a little less than normal but I’m basically well.

That’s the way I’m sick. I sleep constantly.

I have a theory as to why my recovery was so quick. I’m not saying that it will work for everyone but I think it’s my diet and my exercise regimen. I have yogurt, berries and granola for breakfast every day. I try to eat a bowl of soup or some vegetables for lunch. I do fall down a bit at dinner but not too bad. I would give my diet a B-. I could do better. I would say most Americans diets fall far short of this however. I have asked random people what they had for breakfast and most had nothing or a muffin. I know this is not a scientific study but where’s the fruit? Why so much starch and sugar. It’s just easier.

I go to the gym 4 times a week. I run 3.5 miles every other day. I lift weights and do some yoga every day. I go to a dedicated yoga class every Sunday. I would give my workout regimen a B. I do think that more people are trying to keep their bodies in shape. My gym is almost always full. But there are many Americans who just keep getting bigger and bigger. I worry about our population. But I truly believe that I was back to normal so quickly because my body was ready for it. I am very blessed. I just wish my fellow countrymen felt the same way. Here’s to change this year! Let’s go!

2 thoughts on “Keeping the Body Strong

  1. Hi Chef! Thanks for sharing your page with your students. You are an amazing instructor!!! This blog will be a good way to stay in touch even after the program at Escoffier is over. I’m looking forward to reading your newest posts!
    Laura D.

Leave a Reply

