day-to-day activities

On Podcasting and Real Men

right-pic2Not that I want to make a big deal out of it, but I have been doing the CHIC Podcast for 4 years now. I just recently crossed the two-hundred show line. That’s no big deal but it does feel good. I wanted to thank all of my guests which there have been many. I have had guests from around the world and right next door. The last two shows featured a guest from Ottawa, Canada and from my own class I am teaching at school. But all of this is to preface a guest I had on a show that will air on Saturday, November 7th. His name is Ken Klemm. He runs a company called The Buffalo Guys. He raises and sells buffalo meat. I love the taste and texture of it. It cooks up easily and is nutritious. One of my colleagues from school set up the meeting for the show for us. We met last Wednesday and began to talk about what we would talk about on the show. He was an easy going dude. I say dude because he was wearing a large, well large for Chicago, cowboy hat, a Western style vest and black cowboy boots. You don’t see folks like that all the time in the River North area of Chicago. He also sported a buffalo hide covered in fur. As we began to talk, I realized this guy was the real thing, a real cowboy. We talked about raising the buffalo, how to cook it and some stories of the old west and what happened to the buffalo in the last century. He then went off to do a demonstration on buffalo for the school. I think you’ll like this particular episode of the CHIC Podcast.

The day after our podcast, I ran into the colleague who introduced me to Mr. Klemm. I thanked her for doing that. She said that he had related a story after the dinner about his visit to our school. He said that as he drove up to Chicago from Kansas, a 14 hour drive, he noticed all the great architecture around him. He saw the abandoned church behind our school and lamented that so much of it was wasting away. It had beautiful stained glass windows, a very high steeple and delicate details all around. He said to the dinner group that he thought perhaps that kind of craftsmanship had gone away. But he continued that that fear disappeared when he saw the artistry of our students and faculty preparing the dinner. He had told me that he felt welcome in our school. Welcome indeed, Mr. Klemm.

Leave a Reply

