students

What a week!

Howdy all,
I have had such a great week. On Monday I started 3 new classes. I am teaching sanitation, baking 101 and college success. To put this in perspective, I have spent the last 12 weeks with the same students. I love them but it was time to move on. I am sure they were tired of me. I never tired of them but it’s always good to get some fresh blood.

I love teaching sanitation. I never thought I would write those words. I taught it many years ago in a different style. Since then I have studied hard and understood what sanitation means to food service. It’s everything. Seeing the new students discover all the things that can go wrong in a restaurant before thing one goes right is pretty cool. They are amazed at all the things that restauranteurs have to go through to run a safe restaurant.

The other class is called pbk110 but it’s really baking 101. We start at the beginning. I like to get a baseline idea of where the students are coming from. Today we were talking about cooking and I had to describe 4 preparations before I got to something they already knew. That’s fine. I don’t expect my students to know anything about cooking before they come to school. I love that look of discovery and wonder in their eyes as they learn about cookies, scones, biscuits and pie dough in the first week.

I will keep you posted on their progress in the following weeks. I have to make dinner now. It’s the first dinner my wife and I have had together in the last week. I have made a farro salad with tomatoes and olives, grilled chicken and steamed haricot vert. Yum! Talk to you soon.

One thought on “What a week!

  1. what is a farro salad?

    I had a good laugh, when I read that you were anxiously awaiting the arrival of two new (kittens).

Leave a Reply

